Rules of a Rebel and a Shy Girl by Jessica Sorensen

This book is a stand alone. My review of this book is different. I was inspired to write a Christmas card to my dad because of this amazing story. I want to share that with you. So, here it is. There might be a couple of spoilers…sorry.

Christmas card for Dad

2016

Dear dad,

I don’t know if you know this , but I’ve become an avid reader. Mostly fun reads, romances, funny stuff. But once in a while I read a book that speaks to me on a different level. This book I just read was one of them. I came away with a renewed appreciation of you. The story was of a girl who was the child of a mother with substance abuse. The father left them. He left his little girl at the age of six in the care of this unstable mother. The story of this girl broke my heart. The mother threw parties and put her daughter in grave peril on a regular basis. She meets her Prince Charming young, and her estranged father returns to her when she is nineteen and her life, no thanks to him , is on track. But that’s not my story. My story is one where my father comes and rescues me at age 3. My story does not end with me in jail or working in unmentionable places to make ends meet. I feel like I could have been that girl. I could have had the horrible experiences that the character in the book had. But I didn’t . I didn’t because you rescued me. Thank you dad. Thank you for giving me your best. I love you! I always have! I always will! 
Needless to say, I loved this book!

Rating 1-5

  • Swoonworthy-5
  • Funny-5
  • Heartwarming-5
  • Angst-4
  • Loyal-5
  • Likable characters-5
  • Would recommend -5
Leave a Reply

